GB to play hosts Belgium in Olympic Games qualifier

Malaysia, Ireland and China also in GB's pool
Wednesday, March 25th, 2015
FIH World League

The World League is the Olympic qualification tournament

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) has released the pools and match schedule for the Fintro men and women’s Hockey World League Semi-Final in Antwerp, Belgium.

The Hockey World League Semi-Final is a qualifier for the 2016 Rio Olympic Games with three guaranteed places available to both the ten men’s and ten women’s teams competing in this leg in Belgium.

The tournament will start on 20 June 2015 and conclude with the Finals and playoffs on 4 and 5 July 2015.

In both the men’s and women’s event, the ten teams making up the pools are a mixture of automatic qualifiers courtesy of their world rankings (at the time of entry), the hosts and the teams who join via their qualification success in Round 2 of the Hockey World League.

Pool A in the men’s event contains 2014 World Cup winners, Australia lining up alongside India, Pakistan and Round 2 qualifiers Poland and France. While in Pool B, hosts Belgium are joined by Great Britain, and Round 2 qualifiers, Malaysia, Ireland and China.

Pool A in the women’s event features reigning World and Olympic champions the Netherlands with Korea, Japan and Round 2 qualifiers Italy and Azerbaijan. Pool B is looking very competitive with 2014 World Cup silver medallists Australia taking on hosts Belgium, New Zealand and qualifiers India and Poland.

FIH President, Leandro Negre said: “We are very excited about this tournament as it is a joint event with both men and women’s teams competing for places at the 2016 Olympic Games. With the Belgium men and women’s teams taking part we know the fans will be out in support and expect a great atmosphere. It promises to be a truly fascinating event.”

Participating Teams


Pool A Pool B
Australia Belgium
India Great Britain
Pakistan Malaysia
Poland Ireland
France China


Pool A Pool B
Netherlands Australia
Korea New Zealand
Japan Belgium
Italy India
Azerbaijan Poland