Hockey Writers' Club

Wednesday, November 16th, 2016

The Funeral of W Colwill OBE will take place o30 November 2016 at the Amersham Crematorium at 5.15 p.m.

Flowers — Family Only
Donations to the Alzheimer’s Society

Wednesday, November 16th, 2016

It is with much sadness that we record the death of W (Bill) Colwill who passed away in the early hours of the 13th November 2016, in Wexham Hospital, Slough.

For funeral arrangements see here.

Bill was held in high regard in the hockey community both in the United Kingdom and across the hockey playing countries in all parts of the world. He built a network of friends wherever he went and these contacts enabled him to keep in touch with developments of the game and players whether in Australia, Argentina, India or Europe.

Press vs Organisation 2016 Champions Trophy
Sunday, June 26th, 2016

The Hockey Makers, an enthusiastic organisation team of volunteers at the Champions Trophy, beat a depleted media team 6-3 on the main pitch at Queen Elizabeth Park on Thursday.

GW MEdia Centre
Monday, June 13th, 2016

The former chairman of the Hockey Writers Club, Graham Wilson, who died in February, has been honoured at this years Champions Trophy tournament in London.

Journalists and photographers from around the world have been working in the "Graham Wilson Media Centre" at the Lee Valley complex on the Olympic Park. 

Sunday, June 12th, 2016

It has been decided that the Marjorie Pollard and Chris Moore Awards will this year be given to the two outstanding UK players at the women's and men's Champions Trophy tournaments in London. Voting is open to members who are at the tournaments or who watch the games on television.

Voting for the men's Chris Moore award closes at 10pm on Thursday June 16, 2016 - after the conclusion of the GB versus Belgium game.
The HWC intends to present the award at the venue the following day.

Pat Rowley
Saturday, June 11th, 2016

Veteran hockey writer Patrick John Phillip Rowley, better known worldwide as Pat Rowley, has been awarded the British Empire Medal for services to hockey in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List published today.

Monday, June 6th, 2016

Hockey Writers' Club member George Brink has just celebrated 20 years of running the website. Here's the piece from his site reflecting on that period:


Today marks the 20th anniversary of the start of on 3 June 1996!

Graham Wilson
Sunday, February 21st, 2016

Chairman of the Hockey Writers' Club, Graham Wilson, passed away yesterday, Saturday 20 February 2016.

Graham had a lifelong commitment to hockey as a player, supporter and journalist.

He made an immeasurable contribution to keeping the flame of hockey alive in the national press through his regular writings for the Daily Express.

Our thoughts are with his family at this desperately sad time.

HWC Sponsors: Investec - Mercian
Wednesday, January 20th, 2016

The two players also won the Marjorie Pollard and Chris Moore salvers for their performances at the EuroHockey Championships at Lee Valley in the summer.

The 2014 Hockey Writers' club awards winners
Saturday, June 6th, 2015

Next year's Hockey Writers' Club annual awards lunch and AGM will be at the Royal Thames Yacht Club, Knightsbridge on Wednesday January 20, 2016.

Put the date in your diary now.

Monday, July 22nd, 2013

The first item is the letter – or one very similar to it depending on recipients – sent to national daily sports editors. The Editors targetted were: –Telegraph Group. The Times, Daily Mail. Daily Express, The Guardian and The Independent.


Sunday, March 24th, 2013

A former member of the HWC, Zakir Hussain Syed, whom members will remember for his incisive comments on hockey in general and Pakistani hockey in particular, has passed away very recently.

Thursday, January 24th, 2013

Barry Middleton, the 29-year-old Great Britain, and England captain currently playing his club hockey with HGC in the Netherlands and Kate Walsh, the 32 year old Great Britain, England and Reading defender were named UK Player of the Year for 2012 following the annual poll conducted amongst British members of the Hockey Writers’ Club.  Both are currently in the England training squads and are no strangers to honours.

Thursday, October 4th, 2012

Recently retired top umpire, Andy Mair, has recently been named Eurohockey Photographer of the Year.

With more time on his hands Andy has returned to a long-time hobby and was very active at the Euro Hockey League finals with his brilliant shots resulting in his award.

We will contact Andy and see whether we can get a sample of his work for members to drool over.

Friday, February 10th, 2012


For the occasion of the Club's 40th Anniversary we produced a booklet on the main points of our first 40 years. A copy was supplied to each guest at the recent Annual Awards Luncheon.

We can now make this available to visitors to our site by download. It is a pdf document and is available simply by clicking on the 'download' button.


The Hockey Writers' Club annual general meeting was held at the Royal Thames Yacht Club in Knightsbridge, London on Tuesday January 20.

The following club members were elected to committee posts:

Chairman: Graham Wilson 
Hon Secretary: Susan Edghill
Treasurer: Peter Luck


Whilst at the Hockey World Cup in The Hague, we launched our Facebook page. Please do take a look at where you will see some photos from the event.

2014 Hockey World Cup

The World Cup is just a month away and media across the world are converging on The Hague to see the best hockey players on show.  

The new handbook is being printed as we speak and should be available to all members from the Hon Secretary.  Committee members who we know will be at the World Cup include Tom Cooper, Susan Edghill & Graham Wilson.  Please do come and say hello.


The latest Newsletter – No 85 – has very recently been published and sent to members as a pdf. There are a few paper copies available. If you would like one please let Bill Colwill know. His email:–

Newsletter number 82 has been published and is now available as a pdf. To get a copy contact Bill Colwill at the email address below

Syndicate content