Hockey Writers' Club

Sunday, March 19th, 2017

The Hockey Writers' Club will be returning to the Royal Thames Yacht Club, as usual, for the 2018 awards lunch which will be held on Wednesday 24th January 2018 – save the date!

Monday, November 21st, 2016

The funeral of W (Bill) Colwill OBE will take place on Wednesday 30 November at Chilterns Crematorium at 5.15 pm. The crematorium is on the north side of Whielden Lane (A404), Amersham HP7 0ND.

Alan Forsyth and Giselle Ansley
Wednesday, June 12th, 2019

The Hockey Writers’ Club Annual Awards Lunch will take place on Wednesday 15th January 2020 at the Royal Thames Yacht Club, 60 Knightsbridge, London SW1X 7LF.

Monday, January 7th, 2019

The Hockey Writers’ Club AGM will takes place at 1100 am on Wednesday 16th January 2019 at the Royal Thames Yacht Club, preceding the awards lunch. All current members are welcome to attend.

If you have any items for the agenda please email the HWC secretary, Ken Wilson, by January 9th at the following address

Sunday, December 2nd, 2018

All HWC members are eligible to vote for the UK Mercian Men's Player of the Year and the UK Investec Women's Player of the Year. You can vote for at any time up to 12 noon on 20 December 2018. (the conclusion of the men's Hockey World Cup)  All UK members of the HWC are eligible to cast a vote. 

The awards will be presented at the HWC annual awards luncheon on 16 January 2018.

Email your votes to

Sunday, December 2nd, 2018

The Hockey Writers' Club Annual Awards Luncheon will be held at the Royal Thames Yacht Club in Knightsbridge on Wednesday 16th January 2019. A stunning venue in the heart of London close to tube and bus links, situated at 60 Knightsbridge, London SW1X 7LF.

David Meek
Saturday, November 3rd, 2018

It is with regret that we learned of the passing of another hockey friend, David Meek. David was a big supporter of Brooklands Hockey Club where he will be greatly missed. We will also miss him at our annual lunch awards where he was a regular. David was of course well known for his work for the Manchester Evening News and Manchester United.

Hollie Pearne-Webb
Tuesday, January 23rd, 2018

Olympic gold medalist Hollie Pearne-Webb and Rio Olympian Sam Ward have won the prestigious UK player of the year awards for 2017, chosen by members of the Hockey Writers’ Club.

Hannah Griggs
Tuesday, January 23rd, 2018

The recipients of the Hockey Writers’ Club Higgins Group youth and junior awards for 2017 have been chosen with the presentations to be made at the annual awards presentation lunch on Wednesday January 24, 2018 at the Royal Thames Yacht Club, Knightsbridge, London.

Barry Middleton Chris Moore award
Monday, June 26th, 2017

Members of the Hockey Writers' Club have chosen Barry Middleton as UK player of the tournament at the just completed FIH World League Semi Final event at Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park, London.

George Pinner wins Chris Moore award
Friday, June 9th, 2017

It has been decided that the Chris Moore Award will this year be given to the outstanding UK player at the World League Semi-Finals in London, 15-25th June 2017. As we are expecting England games (we are unsure about Scotland) to be shown on BT Sport — see here — voting will be extended to include members who watch the games on television.

Giselle Ansley opens the scoring in the cup final
Friday, May 5th, 2017

The media facilities for the KO Finals at the Lee Valley Hockey & Tennis Centre were the most low-key I can remember at such a tournament but they were appropriate for the event itself.

The handful of journalists and photographers present were still adequately served.

Alan Forsyth of Surbiton versus Holcombe
Friday, May 5th, 2017

The Media Centre was located to the right of the main reception with an area cordoned off and a printed sign saying “Accredited Media only”.

George Brink
Friday, January 27th, 2017

The Hockey Writers Club’s inaugural Graham Wilson award for services to hockey media was awarded to George Brink at the annual awards presentation lunch on Wednesday, January 25, 2017 at the Royal Thames Yacht Club, Knightsbridge, London.

Wednesday, November 16th, 2016

The Funeral of W Colwill OBE will take place o30 November 2016 at the Amersham Crematorium at 5.15 p.m.

Flowers — Family Only
Donations to the Alzheimer’s Society

Wednesday, November 16th, 2016

It is with much sadness that we record the death of W (Bill) Colwill who passed away in the early hours of the 13th November 2016, in Wexham Hospital, Slough.

For funeral arrangements see here.

Bill was held in high regard in the hockey community both in the United Kingdom and across the hockey playing countries in all parts of the world. He built a network of friends wherever he went and these contacts enabled him to keep in touch with developments of the game and players whether in Australia, Argentina, India or Europe.

Press vs Organisation 2016 Champions Trophy
Sunday, June 26th, 2016

The Hockey Makers, an enthusiastic organisation team of volunteers at the Champions Trophy, beat a depleted media team 6-3 on the main pitch at Queen Elizabeth Park on Thursday.

GW MEdia Centre
Monday, June 13th, 2016

The former chairman of the Hockey Writers Club, Graham Wilson, who died in February, has been honoured at this years Champions Trophy tournament in London.

Journalists and photographers from around the world have been working in the "Graham Wilson Media Centre" at the Lee Valley complex on the Olympic Park. 

Sunday, June 12th, 2016

It has been decided that the Marjorie Pollard and Chris Moore Awards will this year be given to the two outstanding UK players at the women's and men's Champions Trophy tournaments in London. Voting is open to members who are at the tournaments or who watch the games on television.

Voting for the men's Chris Moore award closes at 10pm on Thursday June 16, 2016 - after the conclusion of the GB versus Belgium game.
The HWC intends to present the award at the venue the following day.

Syndicate content