Maddie Hinch
Wednesday, January 25th, 2017

Hinch takes the award for the second consecutive year, having caught the eye of the voters last year in a similarly stunning shootout win for England over the Dutch in the final of the 2015 European championships at Olympic Park in London – a result that qualified Great Britain for the Rio Olympic Games.

Wednesday, January 25th, 2017

The recipients of the Hockey Writers’ Club Higgins Group youth and junior player of the year awards for 2016 have been chosen with the presentations made at the annual awards presentation lunch on Wednesday January 25, 2017 at the Royal Thames Yacht Club, Knightsbridge, London.

Mr Richard Higgins, Chairman of the Higgins Group plc, will present the awards. The UK players of the year for 2016 will also be announced at the lunch.

Helen Richardson-Walsh receives the Marjorie Pollard Salver from Lisa Wilson
Wednesday, June 29th, 2016

Helen Richardson-Walsh was named by the Hockey Writers' Club as Britain’s best player in the 2016 women’s Champions Trophy at Queen Elizabeth Park in East London.

She was the most consistent player in a British team that failed to live up to expectations at the event.

Helen is the first person to receive the the Marjorie Pollard Salver three times, having won the award in 2009 and 2011.

George Pinner wins Chris Moore award
Monday, June 20th, 2016

George Pinner, after an outstanding display of goalkeeping, was chosen as Britain’s best player in the 2016 Hero Champions Trophy by members of the Hockey Writers Club.

Monday, June 20th, 2016

The Marjorie Pollard Award will this year be given to the outstanding UK player at the women's Champions Trophy in London. Voting is open to members who are at the tournament or who watch the games on television.

Voting for the award will close at 7pm on Saturday June 25, after GB's final pool game (vs Australia).

The HWC intends to present the award at the venue the following day.

HWC Sponsors: Investec - Mercian
Wednesday, January 20th, 2016

The two players also won the Marjorie Pollard and Chris Moore salvers for their performances at the EuroHockey Championships at Lee Valley in the summer.

Higgins-Logo 150px
Wednesday, January 20th, 2016

The Hockey Writers’ Club is pleased to announce the 2015 winners of the Higgins Group  plc Youth  and  Junior Awards with the presentations to be made at the Annual Awards Presentation Lunch on Wednesday 20th January 2016 at the Royal Thames Yacht Club, Knightsbridge. 

HWC Sponsors: Investec - Mercian
Tuesday, January 12th, 2016

The Hockey Writers Club is proud to announce that the prestigious Player of the Year awards will be each be sponsored by leading hockey partners.

The 2014 Hockey Writers' club awards winners
Wednesday, January 21st, 2015

Holcombe’s Iain Lewers and Canterbury’s Susannah Townsend have been named UK hockey players of the year, following the annual poll conducted among British members of the Hockey Writers’ Club.

Friday, January 24th, 2014
Click here for the full list of winners of the Hockey Writers Club player of the year awards.
Wednesday, January 18th, 2012

The Higgins Group plc Youth and Junior Awards were presented at the Hockey Writers’ Club Awards function yesterday, 17 January 2012, with Joanna Leigh taking the Youth (18-and-under) Girls’ Award and Joseph Sharp the Boys’ Award.

Martha Baker took the Girls’ Junior (16-and-under) Award and James Albery the Boys’ Junior Award.

Wednesday, January 18th, 2012

Olympic prospects win 2011 Hockey Awards

Sunday, August 28th, 2011

England Hockey Board President Simon Mason presented this year's Pollard and Moore Awards at the end of the Gant European Nations Cup tournament in Monchengladbach.

Marjorie Pollard Award          Helen Richardson

Chris Moore Award               Barry Middleton

The Awards were made to the best UK player in the two European events.

Both England teams were defeated in their semi-finals but won out in their bronze medal play-off matches.



Friday, August 26th, 2011

The Higgins Youth Awards recognise the outstanding girl and boy in youth hockey in the UK at age 18 and under, and is not just for players but also for umpires and volunteers in the game as well.

The Awards were introduced by the late Derek Higgins, OBE, who sadly passed away in December 2004. A great supporter of hockey, and youth work, Derek initiated and sponsored these awards.

Monday, December 27th, 2010


Here are the annual winners

Monday, December 27th, 2010

Here is a selection of pictures from our annual awards

Monday, December 27th, 2010

Awarded to the Regional Hockey Writer of the Year


David Wright – Reading Evening Post

Monday, December 27th, 2010

Sydney Friskin 1915 - 1999

The Times Hockey Correspondent from 1st September 1971 until his death with his final piece of copy appearing on the day of his death - 26th November 1999 at the age of 84.
Please find below notice of the Club's AGM to be held on 20 January 2015, as outlined in the latest Newsletter.
The Annual Awards Lunch & Presentations will also be held on 20 January.
This year's guest speakers will be FIH President Leandro Negre and England Hockey CEO, Sally Munday.
The Royal Thames Yacht Club is at 60 Knightsbridge, London SW1X 7LF. (Tel 020 7235 2121).

Hockey Writers' Club members are eligible to vote for their UK Players of the Year. These prestigious awards are to be presented at the HWC Annual Lunch to be held at the Royal Thames Yacht Club on Tuesday January 20, 2015.

We prefer you to vote online - click here.

Alternatively you can print the attached form and vote by post - follow the instructions on the form.

Syndicate content